Shopping Cart
Your Cart is Empty
There was an error with PayPalClick here to try again
CelebrateThank you for your business!You should be receiving an order confirmation from Paypal shortly.Exit Shopping Cart

The Giant Killers

Every F A cup slaying since 1888


The town of Walsall got its first taste of F A cup football way back in 1883 when two teams, Walsall Town and Walsall swifts both entered the competition. Rivalry between the two sides was strong but they both realised that the best chance for a good team in the town was through a merger. Walsall Town Swifts was formed from that merger in 1888 and quickly dropped the Town Swifts from its name as it joined the newly formed Second Division in 1892. They remained a second division side until 1901 when they lost their league status before being part of the newly formed Third Division twenty years later. Their time since has been spent moving between the third and fourth tiers of English football with the glorious exception of one more season back in the second tier in 1961/62. The saddlers greatest moment in the cup came in 1933 when they sensationally disposed of cup holders and champions elect, Arsenal.

Magic Moments


2-0 vs Arsenal

Third Round: Saturday January 14th 1933

Scorers: Gilbert Alsop, Bill Sheppard

Ranked at the time: 2

Today: Inside the top 20

Team: 1:Joey Cunningham, 2:jack Bennett, 3:Sid Bird, 4:Jack Reed;, 5:George Leslie, 6:Harry Salt, 7;Billy Coward, 8:Chris Ball, 9:Gilbert Alsop, 10: Bill Sheppard, 11:Freddie Lee


1-0 Newcastle United

Fourth Round: Saturday January 25th 1975


Scorer: George Andrews

Ranked at the time: 148

Team: 1:Mick Kearns, 2:Colin Harrison, 3:Roger Fry, 4:Dave Robinson, 5:John Saunders, 6:Nick Atthey, 7:Brian Taylor, 8:George Andrews, 9:Bernie Wright, 10:Alan Buckley, 11:Alan Birch: Manager: Doug Fraser