Shopping Cart
Your Cart is Empty
There was an error with PayPalClick here to try again
CelebrateThank you for your business!You should be receiving an order confirmation from Paypal shortly.Exit Shopping Cart

The Giant Killers

Every F A cup slaying since 1888


Manchester City had been members of the football league for four seasons before they finally progressed through the qualifying rounds of the F A cup for the first time in 1897 where they were easily beaten by top flight Preston North End. Two years later City became a top flight club themselves for the first time, going within a whisker of completing the League and cup double when winning the F A cup for the first time in 1904. The Citizenshad to wait another thirty years for a second cup success before being crowned Champions for the first time in 1937. City the suffered the unique fate of being the only defending champions ever to be relegated. A second title followed in 1968, preceded by F A cup wins in 1955 and most recently when Neil Young sank Leicester in 1969. City followed that with European success in the 1970 Cup Winners Cup but their fans haven't enjoyed a major trophy since winning the League cup in 1976. City fans had already endured defeats as a giant for the taking at the hands of Crystal Palace {1920} and Hull City {1930} by the time they travelled to Millwall as Champions elect in 1937 and left humiliated in a defeat that haunted the City fans who witnessed it. The next generation saw their 1980 side humbled by Halifax while current City fans shudder at the mention of Oldham in 2005.

Magic Moments


2-1 @ Aston Villa

Third round: 19th February 1910

Attendance: 35,000

Scorers: George Stewart, Lot Jones {image right}

Ranked at the time: 9

Today: Outside the top 100

Team:1:Jack Lyall 2:Tommy Kelso 3:Bertram Jackson 4:Bill Bottomley 5:Bill Eadie 6:George Dorsett 7:George Stewart 8:George Wynn 9:Tom Holford 10:Lot Jones 11:Jimmy Conlin


2-1 @ Sunderland

Fourth round: Saturday January 28th 1928


Scorers: Charles Broadhurst, George Hicks

Ranked at the time: 172

Team: 1:Lewis Barber, 2:Matt Barrass, 3:Philip McCloy, 4:John Ridley, 5:?, 6:Jimmy McMullan, 7:Billy Austin, 8:Frank Roberts, 9:Charles Broadhurst, 10:Tommy Johnson, 11:George Hicks


1-0 vs Bolton Wanderers

Fourth Round replay: Wednesday January 29th 1947

Attendance: 39,355

Scorer: Eric Westwood

Ranked at the time: 277

Team: 1:Frank Swift, 2:Eric Williams, 3:Sam Barkas, 4:Joe Fagan, 5:Les McDowell, 6:Albert Emptage, 7:Maurice Dunkley, 8:George Smith, 9:Andy Black, 10:Tommy Capel, 11:Eric Westwood