Shopping Cart
Your Cart is Empty
There was an error with PayPalClick here to try again
CelebrateThank you for your business!You should be receiving an order confirmation from Paypal shortly.Exit Shopping Cart

The Giant Killers

Every F A cup slaying since 1888


In the Twentieth Century Liverpool were England's most successful club. The first of their eighteen titles came in 1901 and were followed with more crowns in 1906, 1922, 1923 and 1947 before Bill Shankly started the boot room dynasty that brought unprecedented success to Anfield with titles in 1964, 1966 and 1973. Liverpool's next title in 1976 started a run of nine consecutive years where they were either domestic or European champions. In 1977 they won both, winning their first European crown, which they retained in 1978. The domestic title came to Anfield in 1979 and 1980 before being crowned European Champions for the third time in 1981. Three more consecutive domestic titles again followed, the latter in 1984 coming along with a fourth European crown before the Heysel Stadium disaster at the 1985 European cup final signalled a ban on English clubs in Europe and the beginning of the end of Liverpool's dominant era. Three further titles came in 1986, 1988 and 1990 and while no further domestic titles have followed they have been European champions for a fifth time in 2005. In the cup Liverpool had to wait until 1965 to get their hands on the trophy and lifted it for the second time in 1974 before their 1986 success completed the league and cup double. Their 1989 cup win remains the most emotive, coming as it did just weeks after ninety-five Reds fans lost their lives in a stadium crush at Hillsborough stadium in Sheffield during that season's semi final, a further victim lost their fight for life later. Further cup wins have come in happier times of 1992, 2001 and most recently when Pepe Reina, the goalkeeper was the unlikely hero as Liverpool came back from the dead to force a penalty shootout victory over West Ham in 2006. Naturally with such a proud history, Liverpool have a healthy appearance record in the 'egg on the face' catagory in the cup. A humiliation in 1959 at Worcester has been followed with defeats at Chelsea in 1982, Brighton in 1984 and at home to Bolton in 1993. Older fans will probably agree that these are all marginally bettered by the defeat suffered by Shankly's Reds at home to Swansea in 1964.

Magic Moment


3-2 vs Preston North End

Second round: 10th February 1894

Attendance - 18,000

Scorers: David Henderson, Malcolm McVean - 2

Ranked at the time: 16

Today: outside the top 700