Shopping Cart
Your Cart is Empty
There was an error with PayPalClick here to try again
CelebrateThank you for your business!You should be receiving an order confirmation from Paypal shortly.Exit Shopping Cart

The Giant Killers

Every F A cup slaying since 1888



Stoke 3-0 Preston North End

First round: 17th January 1891

Victoria Ground, Stoke

Scorers: Louis Ballham, Peter Coupar, Wilmot Turner

Ranked at the time: 1

Preston: 1:Jimmy Trainer, 2:Bob Holmes, 3:Nick Ross, 4:Geordie Drummond, 5:Billy Hendry, 6:Billy Stewart, 7:Jack Gordon, 8:William McKennie, 9:William Campbell, 10:Jack Drummond, 11:Hugh Gallacher

Stoke 3-0 Aston Villa

Second round: 31st January 1891

Victoria Ground, Stoke

Scorers: Louis Balham 2, Peter Coupar

Ranked at the time: 4

Stoke became the first team to turn from game keeper to poachers as they shocked both Preston and Aston Villa in their first cup run as an ex league club. The Potteries team had lost their league status at the end of the previous season after two dreadfull campaigns but, as so often happens, the drop down to the Football Alliance led to a vast improvement in results. Stoke lost just two league games all season on the way to winning the title but it was their emphatic defeat of reigning champions Preston which caused the biggest stir seen so far in the history of the competition. Stoke's equally emphatic victory over Aston Villa in the next round failed to generate the same sort of headlines as Villa were still some way short of the team who would go on to be the best in the land by the end of the decade. Stoke went on to lose narrowly in the quarter finals at Notts County in a game that gave birth to the idea of the penalty kick. Late in the tie Stoke were chasing an equaliser when they were awarded a free kick in front of goal. With no such thing as penalties, Stoke were awarded a free kick, to which the County players responded by lining up on the goal line. Stoke failed to score and exited the cup but the incident highlighted the need for something better than a free kick for fouls in front of goal. Stoke convincingly won the Football Alliance title, convincing the Football League to welcome them back into the fold at the end of the season.

Aston Villa: 1:Jimmy Warner, 2:Walter Evans, 3:Gersham Cox, 4:James Brown, 5:Harry Devey, 6:George Campbell, 7:Albert Brown, 8:Tom McKnight, 9:Denny Hodgetts, 10:Jack Graham, 11:Lewis Campbell

Derby County 2-3 Sheffield Wednesday

Second round: 31st January 1891

Derbyshire County Cricket Ground, Derby

Scorers: {Derby} George Bakewell, John Goodall: {Sheffield} Bill Hodder, Harry Brandon, Winterbottom

Ranked at the time: 2

For the third consecutive year Sheffield Wednesday secured the scalp of the league club in the cup but they were a very different side to that which had defeated three league teams on the way to the cup final the previous year. The club were firmly rooted to the foot of the Football Alliance and were given little chance against a derby side who themselves were struggling in the league. Wednesday's run ended at West Bromwich Albion in the quarter finals while their league campaign ended with them bottom of the Football Alliance. the club decided that it was perhaps better not to apply for the extra places on offer in the Football League and many felt Wednesday had missed their chance of ever being a League club. Derby for their part were very grateful to the league expansion as otherwise they would have lost their status in the end of season election.

Derby: 1:Charlie Bunyan, 2:John Baker, 3:Archie Goodall, 4:John Walker, 5:Bruce Chalmers, 6:Walter Roulstone, 7:George Bakewell, 8:Jimmy McLachlan, 9:John Goodall, 10:Samuel Holmes, 11:Johnny McMillan